Worlds Within a City

This weekend, the high temperatutes broke 70 degrees, and I took to the streets.

On Saturday, I wandered the streets of Somerville, as I am wont to do. Living here for six and a half years, I’ve ventured down many of the city’s streets. I feel like I have a good handle on its secrets, its treasures, its special corners.

But on this day, while wandering down Beacon Street, I encountered something I hadn’t seen before: it was a pedestrian underpass that connected Beacon Street and Somerville Avenue, running below the railroad track. A new discovery, sure, but nothing special, right?

Wrong.

And that’s one of the things I love about Somerville. It never ceases to surprise and delight me.

Leave a Reply

