Top Songs of 2009

The other day, I posted my top 10 (and then some) albums of 2009. While I remain steadfastly pro-album in a music culture increasingly revolving around the single track (thanks, iTunes), a rabid consumer of MP3 blogs such as myself can’t help but amass a thorough collection of individual tracks. Sometimes, they lead to a complete album purchase or full artist immersions, but sometimes they stand alone. For this list, I did not include tracks by artists included in my top 25 albums of the year. These are the lone rangers of 2009.

I used tinysong.com (thanks, Andrew) to pull song links for most of the tracks listed below, since apparently Myspace just bought Imeem. So, no downloadable MP3s directly linked below, sorry to say.

Without further ado…

  1. Baby Dayliner – You Push, I’ll Go (This song is only available as a demo; I learned about it from KEXP)
  2. Bell X1 – The Great Defector
  3. The Decemberists – The Rake’s Song (I didn’t even bother putting “Hazards of Love” on my Biggest Disappointment of 2009, though I suppose I should have. This song, though, was exceptional.)
  4. St. Vincent – Marrow (Check out the awesome video)
  5. Roman Candle – Eden Was a Garden (One of my early morning WERS discoveries)
  6. Dirty Projectors & David Byrne – Knotty Pine
  7. Chris Isaak – We Let her Down (A WERS discovery)
  8. Phoenix – 1901
  9. Thunderheist – Sweet 16
  10. Discovery – Orange Shirt
  11. The Very Best – Warm Heart of Africa
  12. Wintersleep – Weighty Ghost (Scrounged this from the SXSW free MP3 downloads)
  13. Thao and the Get Down Stay Down – Know Better, Learn Faster
  14. Sea Wolf – Wicked Blood
  15. The Felice Brothers – Run Chicken Run (Another WERS find.)
  16. Paper Moon – What Are You Going to Do With Me?
  17. Nickodemus – Sun Children
  18. The Mary Onettes – Dare
  19. Iron & Wine – Belated Promise Ring
  20. The Hush Now – Hoping and Waiting (Couldn’t find audio, so here is their song “Sadie Hawkins Dance,” also rockin’)
  21. Elvis Perkins in Dearland – Shampoo
  22. Yacht – The Afterlife
  23. Fanfarlo – Luna
  24. Ruby Isle – My Girls (Animal Collective cover far preferable to the original; couldn’t find a link so here is their cover of “Solsbury Hill“)
  25. Phantogram – Mouthful of Diamonds
5 responses to “Top Songs of 2009

  1. Ooooh, Weighty Ghost. LOVE. It’s such an earworm, too.

  2. Thanks so much for including The Hush Now on your list. Very cool indeed. Also, you can download “Hoping and Waiting” for free at

    http://www.thehushnow.com/hopingwaiting.cfm

    or

    at our last.fm site

    cheers and happy holidays — Noel

  3. Hmm…I love song lists. I’ll do some searching for these, as I haven’t heard more than a few.

  4. Ok, I’ve actually heard more of these than I thought. I too, loved The Rake’s Song.

Leave a Reply

